Why We Started

Traven Watase started the first PB&J Scholarship back in 2013 when he graduated Governor Wallace Rider Farrington High School. Traven was not a good student when he was in High School and did not have strong family support from his parents. In which he moved from Roosevelt High School (Honolulu, HI) to Kauai High School (Lihue, HI) and finally graduated from Governor Wallace Rider Farrington High School (Honolulu, HI). What he realized is that kids who do not have proper guidance/encountered an unusual challenge, are at a significant disadvantage that not a lot of scholarships recognize. Most scholarships you see are merit-based, financial need, or ethnicity. But students who encountered challenges in their lives may not be able to achieve merit-based benchmarks, might be in the middle ground of financial need, and not qualify for ethnicity-based scholarships. So because of this Traven decided to eat PB&J Sandwiches to save money on his budget so that he could pay forward a scholarship while he was in his first year of college himself. Traven did not start the scholarship because he had a lot of money, but he was willing to sacrifice a little and give what he could to help out someone going through similar challenges that he went through.

For Students

Our philisophy back when we first started was not to create barriers from students applying (GPA, Ethnicity etc…) because we will only judge the student by hearing their story and not disregard them before hearing it. Our scholarship is open to:

  1. Current High School Seniors studying in one of the 50 States or Washington DC
  2. Plan on attending a 2 or 4 year college next school year

What needs to be submitted

  1. Personal Statement
  2. 1 letter of reccomendation minium
  3. Transcript (GPA will not be considered and this is only to verify your student status)

2023 Winners Announcement

Our 2023 PB&J Scholarship winners will be officially announced on September 21, 2023. Please stay tuned!

Past Receipients

 Aaliyah Ali, 2022

April Ramirez, 2022

Elleanna Lausch, 2022

Gabriella Martinez, 2022

Janae Davis, 2022

Kaitlyn Myrmo, 2022

Naomi Garcia, 2022

Adilene Dominguez-Ramirez, 2021

Jillian Maudlin, 2021

Tahiat Nawal, 2021

Brianna Webb, 2021

Timothy O’Brien, 2021

Ariana Eivazians, 2021

Angelica Carbajal, 2021

Logan Howard, 2021

Christian Frahm, 2020

Adol Alinjak Bak, 2020

Victoria Gersch, 2020

Youssef Salib, 2020

Abigail McClintic, 2019

Kyla Hansen, 2019

Contact Us